Ballydrain Harriers


Ballydrain Harriers were formed in 1932 by local runners who had been members of Nurseryvale Harriers, a club based between Comber and Dundonald.

They were soon successful, winning many Northern Ireland team and individual championships. All Ireland titles were also claimed during-the period before the second world war. Amongst the pre and post-war personalities who represented Northern Ireland and Ireland in cross-country internationals were Davy Caravan, Jimmy Nelson, Johnny Marshall, Wilson Lowry along with Frank and John Bathgate.

During the 50s and 60s Tom Moore, Adam Brown and Jim Kenmore were the leading lights, followed in the 1970s by Matt Wilson and Ian Morrison.

In recent years Ballydrain Harriers have become better known as a veteran and Fell (mountains) running club. The longest serving members throughout the 70 year history have been George Geddis, Jim Hayes, Fred Strickland and Trevor White, who have all been members for almost half the club's lifespan.

As well as winning the Northern Ireland Fell running title from 1980 to 1985, Jim Hayes also won the Northern Ireland veterans cross-country championships at the 40 and 50 age groups respectively in 1987 and 1997. Currently the leading runners are Brian Ervine, Northern Ireland Fell running champion 1999 and 2000, and David McNeilly, top Junior Fell runner in 1998 and 1999 and third in this seasons senior series.


Further information and club membership contact:-
Ballydrain Harriers
Old School House
1 Tullynakill Road
BT23 6EJ

Recent Photos

Recent Blog Entries